Daily Intel

 

Reading local newspaper is a very good way to get to know a new city. In the past few months, I have really developed a habit of reading newspaper on a daily basis. In the morning, there will be someone handing out City A.M. outside of the underground station. In the evening, Evening Standard will be handing out.

Both newspapers are great sources of information. They not only contribute to my learning of the city but they also keep me updated on what is going on in the United States. For example, during the previous election period, I followed the presidential election not on website, nor on TV, but on these two newspapers.

They are also great sources in that I get to learn the U.S news from a foreigner’s perspective. Believe it or not, people here care a great deal about what’s going on in the United States, whether it be economics or politics. In fact, many of them know the U.S politics better than I do. As a result, they not only have detailed reports but also interesting comments. It is very interesting to watch the United States from a global perspective.

The most exciting pages from those newspapers, however, come from the last two pages. In the last two pages, I can learn about any recent sport news, such as previous day’s football or tennis results. By the time I meet my colleague at intern or my roommates at home, I will be ready to air my thoughts and discuss the games with them.  

Leave a comment