Housing

I am living in a triplet (3 beds, 1 bathroom, 1kitchen) with two other roommates. For NYU students, there are three choices for housing: Guildford House, Byron House, or Nido. I am a Guildford and overall, I am very glad that I got assigned to this housing choice because it is only 10 minutes away from the campus, 2 minutes from the underground station, and 4 minutes from the supermarket. It is very conveniently situated. If I want, I can eat at different places every day, every meal without having to walk for more than 5 minutes.

Another thing that is awesome is that the room is cleaned by a cleaning lady every Friday. It’s just like living in a hotel. She would take our trash, wipe the floor, clean the kitchen, clean the bathroom, and change the sheets. The whole process take less than 1 hour and during that time (Friday morning), I and my two roommates would just leave for an early breakfast. By the time we finish, the cleaning lady is also done, and we go back and start our weekend with a clean, fresh room.

One thing that really disappoints me is that Guildford and Byron do not have gym. Unlike in New York, I have no place to work out and exercise. I had to buy some work out equips myself and exercise in the small, confined area within my room. I could potentially go to a public gym in London, but they are very expensive and are almost always very crowded. 

Leave a Reply

