Living on Budget

 

London is extremely expensive. Period. That’s really all there is and I would stop my post here except that my post has to be at least 250 words minimum. So I will go on and maybe try to come up with some tips.

Tip #1: Know what to spend money on.

I think this is an extremely important point. Now, it is very important to realize that you are abroad, you are on a special occasion, and it is difficult to not spend money. It costs money to eat out, watch football, board Eurostar…etc. These foreign experiences are expensive yet necessary. Without them, your abroad experience would be pointless. On the other hand, you don’t have to eat Domino here (which is extremely expensive anyway). You can also live without Subways for a few months. GAP is probably not the best place to shop, and Starbucks should be able to survive without a few months of your loyalty (Don’t get me wrong, I really miss Starbucks, but I promise myself that I won’t buy Starbucks while abroad).

Tip #2: Have a plan

Having plan will save you big money. If you are planning to see a musical, travel to Europe, watch football, and book hotels, plan months ahead is absolutely critical. The later you book those tickets, the more expensive those tickets will be. For example, I booked a train ticket from Paris to Milan months ago. It cost me 144 pounds. If I didn’t book it then and try to book it now, the ticket cost at least 300 pounds. 

Leave a Reply

